i dont know what this is


Family Matters
July 10, 2008, 6:45 am
Filed under: WORK

I don’t really remember how it happened but I tutor a high school student named Yusuke for 2 hours a week. I get paid the same amount I get paid scrubbing dishes. Today was the first session. I agreed to go because I get to make a tiny bit more money and they will give me dinner! so it’s win-win! And I get to see a real Japanese home.

The first thing I noticed when I arrived at their living room was their HUGE ASS 80+ inch LCD TV. I have NEVER seen such a huge LCD TV. Like seriously, what the hell! I think the biggest we had in Vancouver was like 60 inch? Or the 72 inch in the Sony Store that no one could afford. this thing was insanely big and just took over a wall. They were watching volleyball tournaments but it was S~WE~ET! The next thing I noticed was the stack and stack of ayumi hamasaki and koda kumi DVDs. It ranged from every Arena tour and single CD / DVDs. I guess now I know how much money ayumi makes. I was trying to make conversation with yusuke so I asked him, “so you must like ayu a lot eh?” And then he said, “oh those are all my dads.” His dad seems like a nice man~~ with Erika Fujisawa wallpapers and were listening to Utada Hikaru’s “HEART STATION” album the whole time he was working on architecture drawings. I see that in Japan, J-pop is for EVERYONE.

So I don’t really teach the kid anything, the goal of me being there was just to speak english, and talk with him to get his conversational skills up. Which was hard because he didn’t like to talk, at least not to me. I tried asking him so many questions, but it failed again and again. the only thing that he likes is soccer, and everything that he does is revolved around soccer.

it was hard because the only thing that I knew about soccer was David Beckham and that was related to Posh Spice. I tried my best, but I think he was remotely interested when I brought up some soccer stuff..

But, their TV, it’s a work of art.

AND! they had their own beer tap at home! HOLY ! I want my own beer tap!!!

It was good, except I didn’t get to eat that much, because the whole time I was trying to talk to him and eat. It was really hard T_T

and then we had super super rich chocolate cake, which was even too rich for me. I wanted to throw up half way with black coffee. If you know me, you’d know that I don’t drink coffee that much, i pop caffeine pills if the occassion calls for it. But, I chugged it down because it would be rude to refuse. I have a huge headache…

I WANT THEIR TV!!!!

3 Comments so far
Leave a comment

lol, you could have just talked to him about the eurocup.

Comment by linna

emma San! Y did u stop blogging ><?
ur adventurers sound awesome xD can I link ur blog from mine?:)

Comment by sofa

hahahah yeah .. i hope you could blog more. Anyways, funny experience with the kid. I hope you survived the adventure and the cake. Cheers!

Comment by govz




Leave a Reply

